1200 Calories

After doing quite a bit of research, I have decided to limit my intake of calories to 1200-1500 per day.

Utilizing online calculators, I have found my estimated BMR is 2642. That is my Basal Metabolic Rate which is roughly the amount of calories you’d burn if you stayed in bed all day and rested.

By utilizing a very commonly found chart, I would multiply that number by 1.2 due to my desk job/sedentary life style. That gives me a total of 3170 calories I need to take in to maintain my current weight. Maintaining is obviously NOT what I want, but it is eye opening to the lack of activity and garbage I called food I would eat.

As we all know, there are roughly 3500 calories in one pound of fat. To generate one pound of fat loss in a week, I need to come up with a 3500 caloric defecit throughout the week. I am not content with 1 lb a week.  I am aiming for 3-4 lbs per week. Which means I need to create a 14,000 caloric defecit throughout the week. So I must take in roughly.. 1200 calories.

What people do not understand is that this does NOT mean I only eat 1200 calories a day. It has been done and I am sure there will be days I do this, but that is not what it means. This means that through diet and exercise I need to create that defecit. So if I eat 2000 calories a day, I need to do 800 calories worth of exercise. I also ensure I take a daily multivitamin to get some of the nutrients/vitamins that may lack in my diet.

And how many calories do you burn doing an active? I recommend Health Status. Simply enter your weight and the number of minutes on each activity. It will tell you how many calories you have burned. I have found it to be reasonably accurate.

So how long will it take me to reach my shipweight? I need to lose 120 lbs of fat from my body. An entire person.That means I will need to create a 420,000 caloric defecit to achieve that goal. If I am aiming for a 14,000 caloric deficit a week, that means it will take me exactly 30 weeks to drop that weight. Roughly 7 1/2 months. Could take longer, could take shorter. It isn’t important. What is important, is that I do what I can to reach my goal.

The thing to remember is, I didn’t get this way over night and it won’t change over night. If I mess up a few days, just remember… this is not a diet. It is a lifestyle change. I am not restricting myself to certain types of foods etc. Simply making a conscience decision about every morsel I put into my body. If I want to eat a 500 calorie burger, I do. But I also recognize that is 500 calories I need to make up somewhere else via exercise. Therefore, I usually choose to not eat the burger!

Leave a Reply

